Create Account


    14th Annual Teen Filmmaker Festival

    Presented by and Kalamazoo Institute of Arts at Chenery Auditorium

    March 4, 2017

    Event Rating (0 votes)


    14th Annual Teen Filmmaker Festival

    The Oscars is old news! It's time to roll out the red carpet for the 14th Annual Teen Filmmaker Festival.

    Brought to you by the Kalamazoo Public Library, the Kalamazoo Institute of Arts, Public Media Network, Campaign Pictures and Chenery Auditorium, this festival is free and open to the public. Starting at noon, the 21 finalists chosen from nearly 100 submissions from around the state will be shown, vying for the nine awards, with the audience having the opportunity to vote for "People's Choice"!

    Saturday, March 4th, 2017, 12PM, Chenery Auditorium.

    Play List:

      1.  The 1%: Crisis in the Great Lakes by Griffin Olis

      2.  SafeNet Appliances by Erick Hatter & Seamus Hyman

      3.  MiGRAiNE by Reid Riley

      4.  We are Torn by Logan R. Workman

      5.  The Life of Paul by Luke McGee

      6.  Enigma by Dominic Krupp

      7.  Ode to Crayola by Alex Hamilton

      8.  Monster's Ball by Claire Davis & Eleri Watkins

      9.  Send Her Love by Dorian Murphy & Emilee Erny

      10. New Game by Logan R. Workman

      11. Undertone by Sylvia Gabriel & Aiden Standke

      12. The Palm by Sage Benner

      13. Tabletop by Alex Hamilton

      14. Picturing by Sylvia Gabriel & Aiden Standke

      15. The Resolution by Seamus Hymans

      16. A Piece on the Board by Erick Hatter

      17. You Don't Know by Camryn Bullock

      18. The Chickening by Emma Fergusson

      19. The Invisible Abductor by DyShauna Rutherford

      20. Midnight Unicycling by Annareetta Reponen

      21. Breathe by Makenzie Hanfland (Young Filmmakers Category)


      *   Grand Prize - Best Film: GoPro Hero 4, Polar Pro Promic GoPro Microphone Kit and GOcase H4 POV Pro Case

      *   Best Experimental Film: $50 Best Buy gift card

      *   Best Music Video: $50 Best Buy gift card

      *   Best Short Film (under 3 minutes): $50 Best Buy gift card

      *   Best Technical Merit: $50 Best Buy gift card

      *   Best Cinematic Merit: $50 Best Buy gift card

      *   Judge's Choice: $250 B&H Photo gift card

      *   People's Choice: $50 Best Buy gift card

      *   Young Filmmaker Award: KIA Kirk Newman Scholarship

    Presented by Master of Ceremonies: Kevin Park


    Aubrey Hardaway is a multimedia artist in Kalamazoo who specializes in diversity and inclusion animation, video, and photography. She is the Chair of the Art and New Media Program at Kalamazoo Valley Community College's Center for New Media where she is the lead instructor of Animation/Game Art and Multimedia/Video. Aubrey also mentors students of all ages in film making, animation, and fine art. But what she is really known for is her series of fairy illustrations she created for eight years that celebrate all walks of life. Currently she is working on an animated short to be showcased at the June Art Hop of this year.

    Cristen Leifheit is a moving image artist. She earned a BFA from the University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign in photography and has expanded her knowledge of the single photographic image to create highly crafted image sequences. Her films have been screened in various galleries and festivals across the US and Europe. The videos emphasize bugs and animals as characters and themes that include paranoia, the cyclical and survival. Leifheit's recent work has expanded to include technology's role in the interruption of natural cycles and the transformation of the physical landscape. The medium of stop motion creates a surreal and transformative quality of the work that usually falls between the state of narrative of film and experimental moving image.

    Joel Potrykus is an American writer/director who resides in Grand Rapids where he continues to work with his filmmaking band, Sob Noisse. Buzzard (2014) (SXSW) is the final installment in his Animal Trilogy, following the feature film Ape (2012) (winner of Best Emerging Director, Locarno Film Festival) and the super 8 short cycle Coyote (2010). Along with production, Potrykus teaches screenwriting at Grand Valley State University and writes for an annual film criticism publication. He has also been the subject of retrospectives at the Brooklyn Academy of Music in 2015 and at the 2016 Valdivia Film Festival in Chile.


    The Public Media Network will cover the Teen Filmmaker Festival and will broadcast all entries chosen for the festival, the awards presentations, and interviews with the winners. DVDs of the festival will be available for purchase at cost to interested filmmakers and fans.

    The broadcasts will run 3/9 - 3/30 on Charter 187/U-Verse 99

      *   Tuesdays: 9 pm

      *   Wednesdays: 3:30 pm

      *   Thursdays: 10 am

      *   Saturdays: 1 pm

      *   Online at

    For further information, visit the Official Website

    Chenery Auditorium

    714 S. Westnedge Avenue
    Kalamazoo, MI 49007

    Full map and directions

    Admission Info:

    Free and open to the public.

    Accessibility Information: Currently, no accessibility information is available for this event.

    Official Website

    Connect with this Organization:
    Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Blog  | 

    Facebook Comments

    Member Reviews

    There are currently no reviews/comments for this event. Be the first to add a review/comment , and let folks know what you think!

    Audience Connect

    Use the form below to communicate with this organization.

    Other Ways to Connect with this Organization:
    Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Blog  | 

      • Art Hop

      • ACGK on Twitter